Letters from Father Dan O'Callaghan
Father Daniel O'Callaghan was born January 29, 1875 in South Down, Ireland. He came to St. John's in 1907 on request from Archbishop Howley. He was ordained the same year in the Cathedral of St. John the Baptist and was appointed to the staff of the Cathedral. He remained there for four years and in 1912, was appointed Parish Priest of St. Bride's Parish in Placentia East where he stayed for five years. In 1918, he was assigned as first Parish Priest for Logy Bay, Middle Cove and Outer Cove and was in charge of organizing the construction of a church, which would be called St. Francis of Assisi Church. He is also credited in the erection of a school and presbytery. He remained at the church for thirty years until his death in 1948. Father Dan O'Callaghan © Logy Bay-Middle Cove-Outer Cove Museum The museum archives holds two letters written by Father Dan O'Callaghan. One written in 1903 addressed to Right Reverend Howley and the other in 1917 addressed to Arc...